Colorado License Suspensions & License Points
Facing a license suspension is something everyone wants to avoid. It can be a life changing event not to mention an uncomfortable and costly one. While most people know that a serious offense will result in an immediate license suspension, many fail to recognize that the points associated with other, less serious driving, violations can also result in a suspension if the points accumulate too fast over a certain period of time.
Why? Because in Colorado all driver’s licenses come under the Colorado DMV point system in which points are added to your license when you are charged with a driving violation. If you accumulate too many points on your license within a consistent consecutive period of time, then your license may be suspended.
Those “consistent consecutive periods of time” vary depending on your age and whether or not you are driving as a Chauffeur. If you have a regular Colorado driver’s license (not a Chauffeur’s) then a summary of points that are applicable to you and their time frames are listed below by age:
For adults 21+ your license will be suspended if you get:
- 12 points (or more) in 12 months, or
- 18 points (or more) in 24 months
For drivers aged between 18 and 20, your license will be suspended if you get:
- 9 points (or more) in 12 months, or
- 12 points (or more) in 24 months, or
- 14 points (or more) any time between the ages of 18 and 21 years old
For rivers under the age of 18, your license will be suspended if you get:
- 6 points (or more) in 12 months, or
- 7 points (or more) anytime before you turn 18
Having these points accumulate and result in a license suspension can come as a nasty surprise, especially if you are not already clear on how many points you have and how many points different offenses carry. The violations that automatically put you over the limit of your allotted points and result in an immediate license suspension include (but are not limited to):
- Colorado DUI
- Colorado DUI per se
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Evading an officer
The driving violations that incur points but which do not, by themselves, result in an immediate license suspension include (but are not limited to):
- Colorado DWAI = 8 points
- Colorado UDD = 4 points
What’s important to remember though is that if you already have points on your license when you are arrested for the offenses listed above then the addition of these points can exceed the point limit and also result in an immediate license suspension. Further, when points are counted and their dates assigned, it is the dates of the violation, not the dates of your conviction, that are used to determine whether you have exceeded the number of allowed over a particular period of time.
If you are unsure how many points you currently have on your license, you can check your Colorado driving record with any full-service driver’s license office by purchasing a non-certified copy of your Colorado motor vehicle record. If you want a certified copy, you can obtain one from the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.
If you are currently facing a license suspension for the aforementioned offenses, then it’s important that you get the help of an experienced attorney, like those at DUI Law Firm Denver, to fight for you to get the best possible outcome for your case.