What Is a DUID Charge?
DUID stands for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs. Like with DUI charges, DUID carries stiff penalties. With the legalization of marijuana in Colorado, DUID charges have increased throughout the state for both residents and visitors.
A DUID charge applies when drug use of any kind renders you incapable of properly driving. As is the case with alcohol charges, there is a lesser charge of DWAID, Driving While Ability Impaired By Drugs, that applies to the slightest degree of impairment due to the use of drugs.
What Do I Need to Know When Charged with DUID?
If you are stopped under the suspicion of drug use while driving, do not share any information with law enforcement about what you consumed. You do not have any obligation to answer their questions.
The penalties for DUID are like those for DUI, including fines, jail time, loss of driving privileges, damage to your reputation, and the stress of facing criminal charges.
It’s harder to test for drug impairment than for alcohol impairment. Blood tests that show at least five nanograms of THC per milliliter of blood in your system signal impairment. However, blood tests detect THC levels long after the use of marijuana and when that usage would cease to impair your ability to drive.
The prosecution is counting on your ignorance of the law and the science in a DUID case. Know your rights and seek legal help
Drug Defense Attorney Services
A breathalyzer does not work for drug use. Therefore, driving under the influence of drugs requires a blood test.
DUID charges not only apply to illegal drugs. If any drug use impairs your ability to drive, DUID may apply. For example, prescription drugs, inhaled glue or aerosols, marijuana, or illegal drugs all fall under the category of a DUID charge.
Typically, a first offense DUID charge is a misdemeanor charge. Like with DUI charges, DUID charges become a felony when involving an accident with an injury or death or for subsequent charges.
Penalties for First-Time DUID Conviction:
Up to 96 hours of community service
Points against your driver’s licenses
Drug or alcohol education classes
Marijuana Possession Criminal Charges
While marijuana is legal in Colorado, some restrictions apply. The law allows for possession of small amounts of marijuana, transferring small amounts to others without payment for the transfer, and growing a few plants.
However, to sell marijuana legally requires a state license. Otherwise, you risk criminal charges. Possession of more than one to two ounces, cultivation of more than six plants, or distributing pot for money carries severe consequences.
The penalties for marijuana crimes vary based on the volume of the drug or the number of plants. The penalties increase for larger volumes. If you face criminal charges for marijuana, you need a strong criminal defense team.
Minor Possession of Marijuana
Minors cannot possess any amount of marijuana under Colorado law. Any person under 21 years of age that uses, possesses, or sells marijuana risks criminal charges. For minors, even possession of drug paraphernalia can result in a charge.
Minor drug possession carries severe penalties. With the right defense team on your side, diversion programs are possible for a first offense. Even a first offense carries heavy penalties with the penalties increasing greatly for subsequent charges.
Penalties for Minor Drug Possession:
Unlawful Possession of a Controlled Substance
Whether a prescription drug or another drug, unlawful possession can result in criminal charges. The amount of the drug in possession impacts the penalties if convicted. For small amounts, probation or diversion programs are possible when you have the right defense team on your side.
The penalties vary greatly based on the volume of the drug and the type of drug, including felony drug charges and federal drug charges. It’s vital to understand your rights and the law in drug cases.
Penalties for Drug Possession: