DUI With Death
If you are responsible for causing the death of another due to driving while under the influence of alcohol and drugs you will face charges for vehicular homicide. You could also face vehicular homicide charges if you cause the death of another due to driving recklessly or distracted driving. Basically, if your choice to drive impaired is the cause of the death of another you will be charged with vehicular homicide.
Specifics of Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence can include alcohol, drugs, a combination of both, or more than one drug. Driving under the influence of more than one drug includes a variety of substances, in addition to controlled substances which are explicitly illegal. This can include other substances such as glue and aerosol inhalation, other inhalants, prescriptions medications that impair your ability to drive, etc.
In instances where the blood test shows more than 0.05 yet less than 0.08 grams of alcohol per one hundred milliliters of blood, this evidence will be presented in correlation with other relevant evidence to determine whether you were under the influence of alcohol. In cases where the blood test shows 0.08 grams or more alcohol per one hundred milliliters of blood, you will be assumed to have been under the influence of alcohol at the time of the incident.
Beware that driving under the influence is just plain risky. Even if you are involved in an accident and are not the at fault driver, you may still be convicted of vehicular homicide due to your impairment. The state of Colorado is likely to pin the blame on you as the proximate cause for the accident due to having alcohol in your system.
The Consequences of Being Convicted of Vehicular Homicide
Cases of vehicular homicide are considered very serious in Colorado. In cases where the vehicular homicide was a result of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, penalties are even more serious. A conviction for vehicular homicide with DUI is a class 3 felony. Penalties include a Colorado prison sentence of 4-12 years with a mandatory minimum parole of 5 years, as well as a fine ranging from $3,000 to $750,000. In addition, under exceptional circumstances, the prison sentence maximum may be increased to 24 years.
Regardless of the factors leading up to the vehicular homicide, if convicted you will lose your driver’s license for a least a year. Depending upon any other charges or traffic violations you are convicted of in relation to your case, you may face additional penalties. Be aware that if you have a prior record for DUI or reckless driving, the court system will take this into account. You could face increased consequences, such as extra time spent behind bars.
Contact A Colorado Defense Attorney Today!
If you are facing charges of vehicular homicide, be sure to contact an experienced defense lawyer right away. A skilled attorney can make all the difference in your case. A skilled defense attorney can work to get your charges reduced.