Everything You Need to Know About Colorado Vehicular Homicide
In Colorado, the law views vehicular homicide extremely seriously. As such, being convicted of these charges will deeply impact your life with both legal consequences and personal ones. If you have found yourself charged in an incident of vehicular homicide, it is important to understand your charges and the most appropriate steps to take. Continue reading to learn more about vehicular homicide, the consequences, and the best way to defend yourself.
What is Vehicular Homicide?
Under Colorado law, it is possible to receive charges for vehicular homicide if you take a person’s life with your vehicle and the incident occurs due to one of three circumstances, impairment from drunk/drugged driving, reckless driving, or distracted driving.
If you are responsible for a vehicular homicide that resulted from drugged/drunk driving, you will be subject to a class 3 felony. In order to be considered driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol, the prosecution must provide evidence that you were “substantially incapable” of safely operating the vehicle. Thus, there must be evidence that you could not mentally/physically make good judgments, exercise physical control of the vehicle, or provide proper care to ensure safe operation of the vehicle when the accident occurred. This is generally determined by blood work that provides proof that the perpetrator was indeed under the influence of alcohol/drugs, as well as the person’s blood alcohol concentration/drug levels at the time of the accident. These factors will be considered by the prosecution to determine whether drugs and/or alcohol were a factor in the accident.
It is possible to face a class 4 felony charge if you are guilty of vehicular homicide as a result of distracted/reckless driving. You may receive these charges if you are aware of driving laws, yet intentionally ignore them, putting others are a risk.
What Are the Consequences of a Colorado Vehicular Homicide?
If you are convicted of vehicular homicide as a result of drunk/drugged driving, consequences include up to 12 years spent in prison, fines reaching up to $750,000, and a minimum of one-year license revocation. Furthermore, if there were any aggravating factors present in your case the judge may rule in favor of a maximum prison sentence of 24 years.
If you are convicted of vehicular homicide as a result of distracted/reckless driving, the consequences are still significant. Penalties include a maximum sentence of 6 years in prison and fines up to $500,000. Additionally, you will lose your license for a period of one year or more. If your case has aggravating factors present, it is possible you could spend as much as 12 years behind bars.
Don’t Walk Alone
Due to the extreme nature of vehicular homicide, penalties are extremely harsh. Thus, if you or someone you love is facing charges, you can’t afford to do anything. Immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to help fight for you. Consequences are long-reaching and will impact you for many years to come. A qualified attorney will prepare the best defense possible based upon the unique circumstances surrounding your case. Allow the experts to ensure your rights are respected and the very best outcome occurs for your case!