How Long Do You Lose Your Driver’s License If Convicted of DUI?
If you have been charged with DUI, you may be concerned about the inevitable consequences, namely the possibility that you will lose your license if convicted. Losing your license for any period of time can have devastating consequences to your personal and professional life. Thus, you are likely anxious to know just how long your license may be suspended. According to Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver “it depends the amount of time that you lose your license is generally determined by the number of previous DUI’s and whether or not you refuse a chemical test.” Continue reading to learn more about DUI and licensing penalties.
Like most things, a first offense DUI without aggravating factors will invoke lesser penalties than those who are repeat offenders. However, the consequences are always harsh as DUI is an extremely serious offense. Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver, explains that “if you agreed to take a chemical test and it’s your first DUI, you’ll lose your license for 9 months.”
The state of Colorado operates off of the premise of expressed consent. This simply means that by driving on a Colorado road you have implied your consent to take a chemical test (blood or breathalyzer) if you are suspected of driving under the influence. Thus, it is never in your best interest to refuse a chemical test. Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver further expounds upon this subject sharing that “if you refuse to take a chemical test, the penalties are a bit more severe. For your first refusal, you’ll lose your license for one year.”
Second offenses are regarded more seriously by the courts and therefore carry with them more serious consequences. According to Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver, “if you agree to take a chemical test and it’s your second DUI, you’ll lose your license for a year.”
However, refusal to take a chemical test will result in a more significant license suspension. Emilio De Simone shares that “for your second refusal you’ll lose your license for two years.”
Third or Subsequent Offenses
If you continue to break the law after prior offenses, the justice system will take away your driving privileges for increasingly longer periods of time. While throughout your first three convictions you will be charged with a misdemeanor, a fourth or subsequent DUI will elevate your charges to that of a felony. Moreover, “if you agreed to take a chemical test and it’s your third or a subsequent DUI, you’ll lose your license for two years” (Emilio De Simone, DUI Law Firm Denver).
For those refusing a chemical test, license revocation will last substantially longer. Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver, shares that “for your third and subsequent DUI’s, you’ll lose your license for three years.”
There is Hope
If you are facing charges for DUI, don’t lose hope. The experienced, compassionate attorneys at DUI Law Firm Denver are here to help you. Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver shares hope stating “the thing to keep in mind is you can get a restricted license after 30 days if you agreed to a chemical test and after 60 days if you refused.” Don’t let your case chance, get scheduled for your free consultation at www.DUILawFirmDenver.com or call 303-404-7492 today.