How Long Will a License be Suspended for a DUI?

Suspended License

License suspensions are stressful and can cost you both time and money. So, it’s important to know: Which Colorado DUI offenses will lead to a license suspension and how long will the suspension last?

The following list outlines the Colorado DUI offenses that lead to a license suspension:

  • DUI (driving under the influence)
  • DUI per se – driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher
  • DUID – driving under the influence of drugs
  • DUI of marijuana
  • Excess BAC (blood alcohol content) CDL (commercial driver’s license) – driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.04% or higher
  • UDD (underage drinking and driving) – driving under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of 0.02% or higher
  • Chemical test refusal – refusing to take or complete a chemical test once you have been arrested for drunk or drugged driving
  • Accumulating too many points on your Colorado DMV driving records

While your license may be revoked for any of these offenses, the length of time for which the revocation will be in effect depends on the specific charge you are facing and whether this is your first offense, or a repeat offense.

Here is an overview on the license suspension times you can face for each of the listed offenses:

DUI Automatic License Revocation

The penalties for a DUI are largely the same for DUI per se, DUID, and DUI of marijuana. The DUI automatic license revocation times are as follows:

1st violation = 9 months

2nd violation = 12 months

3rd violation and more = 2 years

Excess BAC CDL Automatic License Revocation

Your commercial license is regulated primarily through federal law. While Excess BAC CDL will lead to automatic suspension of your commercial license, it will also lead to an automatic suspension if you are driving a commercial vehicle when you are convicted of the following offenses: DUI; DUI per se; DUID; refusing a DUI chemical test; leaving the scene of an accident; or driving without a current valid license.

1st violation = 1 year (3 years if you were transporting hazardous materials at the time of the offense)

2nd violation or more = a lifetime loss of commercial license

The license suspension times for those under 21 who commit only a UDD while driving a commercial vehicle are:

1st violation = 3 months

2nd violation = 6 months

3rd violation and more = 12 months

UDD  automatic license revocation:

1st violation = 3 months

2nd violation = 6 months

3rd violation and more = 12 months

Chemical test refusal automatic license revocation:

1st violation = 1 year

2nd violation = 2 years

3rd violation and more = 3 years

Accumulation of Too Many Points

The point at which your license will be suspended due to the points on your license depends on your age and whether you are a professional driver. For clarification, read our post on how the points on your drivers license add up here.

If you have been charged with a drug or alcohol driving offense in Colorado, and you want an experienced Colorado DUI lawyer to fight for you, then contact our team of Colorado DUI law specialists here.